">Start exploring wills and probate records

Ireland Before 1858:

Ireland was subject to the over-riding jurisdiction of the archbishop of Armagh, (Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Armagh) and within his province there were some 28 dioceses with the normal consistory courts and at least two peculiars. There were no archdeaconry courts. Virtually all the records of these courts were destroyed in 1922.

Counties (emboldened) and the main consistory court jurisdictions in which they lay:

  • Antrim: Mainly in Connor.
  • Armagh: Mainly in Armagh.
  • Carlow: in Leighlin.
  • Cavan: Mainly in Kilmore.
  • Clare: Mainly in Killaloe and Kilfenora.
  • Cork: Mainly in Cloyne.
  • Donegal: Mainly in Raphoe.
  • Down: Mainly in Down and Dromore, and the peculiar of Newry and Mourne.
  • Dublin: In Dublin.
  • Fermanagh: Mainly in Clogher.
  • Galway: Mainly in Clonfert and Kilmacduagh.
  • Kerry: In Ardfert and Aghadoe.
  • Kildare: Partly in Dublin (for which see co. Dublin) and partly in Kildare.
  • Kilkenny: Mainly Ossory.
  • King's County (Offaly): Mainly in Kildare (see co. Kildare) and Killaloe and Kilfenora (see co. Clare).
  • Leitrim: Mainly in Kilmore (see co. Cavan) and partly in Ardagh (see co. Longford).
  • Limerick: Mainly in Limerick.
  • Londonderry: Mainly in Derry.
  • Longford: Mainly in Ardagh.
  • Louth: Mainly in Armagh (see co. Armagh).
  • Mayo: In Killala and Achonry.
  • Meath: Mainly in Meath.
  • Monaghan: In Clogher (see co. Fermanagh).
  • Queen's County (Leix): Mainly in Leighlin (see co. Carlow) and Ossory (see co. Kilkenny).
  • Roscommon: Mainly in Elphin.
  • Sligo: Mainly in Killala and Achonry (see co. Mayo) and Elphin (see co. Roscommon).
  • Tipperary: Mainly in Cashel and Emly (see co. Limerick) and Killaloe and Kilfenora (see co. Clare).
  • Tyrone: Mainly in Derry (see co. Londonderry) and Armagh (see co. Armagh).
  • Waterford: In Waterford and Lismore, with peculiar of the dean of Lismore. .
  • Westmeath: Mainly in Meath. Also Ardagh (see co. Longford).
  • Wexford: Mainly in Ferns. Also Dublin (see co. Dublin).
  • Wicklow: Mainly in Dublin (see co. Dublin). Also Ferns (see co. Wexford) and Leighlin (see co. Carlow).

Unlike English, Welsh and Scottish counties, those in Ireland rarely coincided exactly with probate jurisdictions.